Website for Opera The Cunning Little Vixen

7 September 2015. Published by Benoît Labourdette.

Conception, design and production of the editorial site for an opera, “The Cunning Little Vixen” by Leos Janacek.

www.renarde.arcal-lyrique.fr

Starting point of the project

The Arcal, national lyrical theater company (head Catherine Kollen) needed to accompany the tour of an opera (“The Cunning Little Vixen” by Leos Janacek, staged by Louise Moaty, conducting by Laurent Cuniot) with a dedicated website that is both the official place of reference, a resource space for the public about the work and its staging and musical implementations, and a distribution platform of workshops work done around the opera.

Specifications

Work to build this website included several aspects:

  • Support in web strategy.
  • Support for the construction of the tree and the nature of the content.
  • Training in the use of the back-office (including management of text, images and videos).
  • Webdesign.
  • Development and web integration.

Time and contents

To create this site and that tight deadlines are kept, the contents began to be designed and put online by the editors in parallel with the web development work. Through this time for construction, when the site opened, the contents were immediately rich and interesting, filling the objectives of the site.

Launch

So I started by installing a CMS (Content Management System, a kind of ’engine’ website), SPIP (which I strongly recommend), and trained editors, collectively, to build momentum for the construction of content.

Webdesign

Webdesign work came only at a later stage, when most of the contents were content, the structure of questions and tree were settled and the work on the opera rehearsals progressed. So I abandoned all my first design ideas to get webdesign, bearing on the reality of the contents on two key ideas:

  1. Use background of a painting of Egon Schiele, which gives the identity of the site (the opera sets are made of paintings by Egon Schiele).
  2. Display at the top of each page (topics and articles) one large image Cinemascope size (it’s a video opera, with a large screen Cinemascope on stage - I actually also participated in the video design of the opera), which is the image of the staging of the play, and visually dives into the world of each section of the site.

Cross navigation and keyword

To generate a relevant cross navigation through links in every page to articles on the same site that share the same themes as current, each published article must be “tagged” with keywords, which does not appear to the user, but which allow an automatic editorialisation, and scalable links between articles.

Sustainable content

The SPIP CMS makes it easy to fully separate form and content and structure text, images and media in a very clear way. So, which governs the construction of site content is not the “layout” of the site, it is the quality of its structure. The “layout” is a layer added on top of structured content. Thus the content is independent from any layout, it is not “blocked”, it will always be able, even in the distant future, ton receive any type of layout, and can be broken down for other uses than a website.

Pictures

In that sense, the images that accompany articles and sections are large images that are resized and cropped automatically by the website itself. Thus, whatever the future layout, the source images are present in the site, and will always be resized to meet changing needs.

Videos

Regarding the videos, they are not hosted on community video websites, they are hosted in the website itself, and streaming smoothly playable on all browsers with HTML5 technology. Thus, rights are preserved, and the videos are not subject to the prerogatives of another platform. So I also trained editors to encoding video for the web and posted on its own platform.

Portfolio
I accompany the design and implementation of web projects, to articulate policy issues, technical, content, organizational and methodological work. These range from project management (technical design specifications and service monitoring), training of editors, or even manufacturing sites A to Z. Here are several websites that I made.

Accueil > Prestations > Sites web > Site web Opéra La petite renarde rusée

Sites web

J’accompagne la conception et la mise en œuvre de projets web, pour articuler les enjeux stratégiques, éditoriaux, techniques, d’organisation du travail et méthodologiques. Cela va de la maîtrise d’œuvre (conception cahier des charges et suivi prestataire), à la formation des rédacteurs, ou même la fabrication de sites de A à Z.

Voici plusieurs sites web que j’ai réalisés.

Site web Opéra La petite renarde rusée

7 septembre 2015

Conception, design et fabrication du site éditorial d’un opéra, « La petite renarde rusée », de Leos Janacek.

www.renarde.arcal-lyrique.fr

Point de départ du projet

L’Arcal, compagnie nationale de théâtre lyrique (direction Catherine Kollen) avait besoin, pour accompagner la diffusion d’un opéra (« La petite renarde rusée », de Leos Janacek, mis en scène par Louise Moaty, direction d’orchestre par Laurent Cuniot) d’un site web dédié qui soit à la fois lieu de référence officiel, espace de ressources pour le public autour de l’œuvre et de sa mise en scène et en musique, et plateforme de diffusion des travaux d’ateliers réalisés autour de l’opéra.

Cahier des charges

Le travail de fabrication de ce site web comportait plusieurs facettes :

  • Accompagnement à la stratégie web.
  • Accompagnement à la construction de l’arborescence et de la nature des contenus.
  • Formation à l’usage du back-office (et notamment gestion des textes, images et vidéos).
  • Webdesign.
  • Développement et intégration web.

Délais et contenus

Pour réaliser ce site et que les délais serrés soient tenus, les contenus ont commencé à être conçus et mis en ligne par les rédacteurs en parallèle du travail de développement web. Grâce à ce vrai temps de construction, lorsque le site a ouvert, les contenus étaient d’emblée riches et intéressants, remplissant d’emblée les objectifs du site.

Lancement du travail

J’ai donc commencé par installer un CMS (Content Management System, sorte de « moteur » de site web), SPIP (que je recommande très vivement), et formé les rédacteurs, collectivement, afin de construire une dynamique pour la construction des contenus.

Webdesign

La conception du webdesign n’est venue que dans un deuxième temps, lorsque la plupart des contenus étaient présents, que les questions de structure et d’arborescence étaient réglées et que le travail sur les répétitions de l’opéra avançait. Ainsi, j’ai abandonné toutes les premières idées de webdesign pour arriver, en appui sur la réalité des contenus, à deux idées force :

  1. L’utilisation en fond d’un tableau d’Egon Schiele, qui donne l’identité du site (les décors de l’opéra sont faits de tableaux d’Egon Schiele).
  2. L’affichage en haut de chaque page (rubriques et articles) d’une grande image au format Cinemascope (c’est un opéra-vidéo, avec un grand écran Cinemascope sur scène - j’ai d’ailleurs aussi participé à la conception vidéo de cet opéra), qui est à l’image de la mise en scène de l’œuvre, et fait plonger visuellement dans l’univers de chaque section du site.

Navigation transversale et mots clés

Afin de générer une navigation transversale pertinente, par des liens, dans chaque page, vers des articles du même site qui partagent les mêmes thématiques que l’article en cours, chaque article publié doit être « taggé » par des mots clés, qui n’apparaissent pas pour l’internaute, mais qui permettent une éditorialisation automatique, et évolutive, des liens entre les articles.

Pérennité des contenus

Le CMS SPIP permet facilement de séparer pleinement forme et contenus et de structurer les textes, images et médias de façon très claire. Ainsi, ce qui préside à la construction des contenus du site n’est pas la « mise en page » du site, c’est la qualité de sa structure. La « mise en page » est une couche rajoutée par dessus des contenus structurés. Ainsi les contenus sont indépendants de toute mise en page, ils ne sont pas « bloqués », ils pourront toujours, même dans un avenir lointain, recevoir n’importe quel type de mise en page, et pouvoir être déclinés pour d’autres usages qu’un site web.

Les images

Dans ce sens, les images qui accompagnent articles et rubriques sont de grandes images, qui sont redimensionnées et recadrées automatiquement par le site lui-même. Ainsi, quelle que soit la mise en page future, les images sources sont présentes dans le site, et pourront toujours être redimensionnées pour répondre à des besoins en évolution.

Les vidéos

Concernant les vidéos, elles ne sont pas hébergées sur des sites de vidéo communautaire, elles sont hébergées dans le site lui-même, et lues de façon fluide en streaming sur tous les navigateurs grâce à la technologie HTML5. Ainsi, les droits en sont préservés, et elles ne sont pas soumises aux prérogatives d’une autre plateforme. J’ai donc aussi formé les rédacteurs à l’encodage vidéo pour le web et à la mise en ligne sur sa propre plateforme.


Portfolio