Orc (2013)

1 November 2013. Published by Benoît Labourdette.

Set of 18 songs composed and performed by Benoît Labourdette. Nine of them are sung, the rest are instrumental. Music and sound material is constructed from samples of organs and sounds of the world. The lyrics are written without the help of sense. The album cover is a painting by Paolo Uccello : Saint George slaying the dragon (v 1456), one of the important pictures from my childhood. Some of these songs are used in certain of my movies.

Download the whole album “Orc” for free.

Door ajar
The call
Survey
Tomorrow
Voices of the dead
To say that it is possible
Noted on adults
Le Mans
Journey
Evva with two V
Medal
Monochrome
Hi Benoît
Hawk
Alexander The Great
Heck
Mobile phones spreaded
Immediate

Door ajar

  • Instrumental. Duration : 3’20s.

The notes of the organ are used as if they were gnashing of opening a door. A big wooden door, opening on a very old building, maybe. But perhaps it is not a door, maybe they are voices that we hear on the other side of the door ajar...

The call

  • Instrumental. Duration : 1’42s.

The notes of the organ placed as footprints, or as voice, very slow, a small choir.

Survey

  • Instrumental. Duration: 3’38s.

Step by step, the progress in the corridors of a cave with gilded with fine gold and sometimes frescoed electric blue in the light of our lamps. At each step, a new discovery, a new visual wonder in the dark and the flickering light. A new risk, and the growing of our fear. Maybe a dragon, whose breathing is beginning to be more and more audible, lies in one of the corners of this huge cave. And an orchestra, more distant, its echo leaves its tunes.

Tomorrow

  • Instrumental. Duration : 3’32s.

Once in the hall of the center of the earth, the few beings in groups tightened to keep out the cold, realize that rhythm inside, guiding the movements of their bodies, prints their necks, their legs, their trunks and their arms loose dance movements, slow, deep, syncopated moments, announcing a day that will be very different from the day before.

Voices of the dead

  • Instrumental. Duration : 3’19s.

In the middle of a dream, silhouettes with empty eyes, through which the horizon of the dawn is visible, appear to all, moving their labia shade, opening huge mouths, uttering phrases that are just hissing chilling. Yet hope remains there.

To say that it is possible

  • Song. Duration : 2’53s.

To extricate himself from an enclave, enclosed in a break in space and time, at the end of which many worlds are possible, past world, future world, this world, the one’s world, the world of others. Sent messages. Past conflicts. Present complicity. Attempt to grasp this, to keep, perhaps, a fair presentation.

Noted on adults

  • Song. Duration : 2’34s.

From a precise moment in an individual’s personal life, it as an agitation in a test tube, agitated in every direction by a giant white lab coat. At the end, takes place what is called a precipitate : products, by their miscibilities give birth to something completely new, a change of a lifetime.

Le Mans

  • Song. Duration : 4’53s.

After time, after time has passed, we do not know exactly where we are in time. Yesterday or tomorrow or today. We have memories with you, we have dreams for the future, we are in a train that takes that back, which entails. More free will, more than a spectator of his time, snippets of past-present-future life circling. Crystalline burstings fragments of life, places, rotating weightless as facets showing through them we do not know whether it was before or after. Around a place where it happened we do not know what. But we know that it was there. Le Mans.

Journey

  • Song. Duration : 3’20s.

Moving from one place to another, it is being elsewhere. During the transition, the journey, where is it, who are we ? In a no man’s land of feelings, in ignorance of the future, in a consciousness of some bits of the past and the other. In this underlying story, symbolic arrival in the big city of France, is to arrive in mystery, dark, full of pain, it is. This step.

Evva with two V

  • Song. Duration : 3’29s.

Love / intellectual encounter.

Medal

  • Song. Duration : 2’41s.

Disarticulated politic appeal.

Monochrome

  • Song. Duration : 4’10s.

Fear of parisian night.

Hi Benoît

  • Instrumental. Duration : 3’45s.

The voice on the other end of the phone and time, that resonate, strident.

Hawk

  • Song. Duration : 3’52s.

Fleeing his daily...

Alexander The Great

  • Song. Duration : 5’08s.

Hero of old ages, brought up to date.

Heck

  • Song. Duration : 3’48s.

Guilt.

Mobile phones spreaded

  • Song. Duration : 3’28s.

Claims-used.

Immediate

  • Song. Duration : 1’43s.

Once upon a time.

Accueil > Musique > Albums > Orque (2013)

Albums

J’ai composé et interprété six albums.

(bientôt dans cette rubrique : Un feu sur les ruines - 2003)

Orque (2013)

1er novembre 2013

Ensemble de 18 chansons écrites, composées et interprétées par Benoît Labourdette. Neuf d’entre elles sont chantées, les autres sont instrumentales. La matière musicale et sonore est construite à partir de samples d’orgues et de bruits du monde. Les paroles des chansons sont écrites sans le secours du sens. La pochette du disque est un tableau de Paolo Uccello : Saint Georges terrassant le dragon (v. 1456), une des images importantes de mon enfance. J’ai utilisé certains des morceaux instrumentaux dans des films.

Téléchargez l’album « Orque » entier gratuitement.



Porte entr’ouverte

L’appel

L’enquête

Demain

Voix des morts

Dire que c’est possible

Noté sur les adultes

Le Mans

Voyage

Evva avec deux V

Médaille

Camaïeu

Salut Benoît

Aigle

Alexandre Le Grand

Zut

Portables étalées

Immédiat

Porte entr’ouverte

  • Instrumental. Durée : 3’20s.

Les notes de l’orgue sont utilisées comme si elles étaient les grincements de l’ouverture d’une porte. Une grosse porte en bois, ouvrant sur un très ancien bâtiment, peut-être. Mais peut-être n’est-ce pas une porte, peut-être que ce sont des voix, que l’on entend, de l’autre côté de la porte entrebâillée...

L’appel

  • Instrumental. Durée : 1’42s.

Les notes de l’orgue placées comme des traces de pas, ou comme des voix, très lentes, un petit chœur.

Enquête

  • Instrumental. Durée : 3’38s.

Pas à pas, l’avancée dans les couloirs d’une grotte aux murs dorés à l’or fin et parfois ornés de fresques aux bleus électriques, à la lumière de nos lampes à carbure de tungstène. A chaque pas, une nouvelle découverte, un nouvel émerveillement visuel, dans l’ombre et la lumière qui vacille. Un nouveau risque aussi, une peur qui grandit. Peut-être qu’un dragon, dont la respiration commence à être de plus en plus audible, se cache dans l’un des recoins de cette grotte immense. Et un orchestre, encore plus lointain, laisse résonner ses airs.

Demain

  • Instrumental. Durée : 3’32s.

Une fois arrivés dans la salle du centre de la terre, les quelques êtres, en groupe resserré pour se protéger du froid, se rendent compte qu’un rythme, intérieur, guidant les mouvements de leurs corps, imprime à leurs cous, à leurs jambes, à leurs troncs et à leurs bras, des mouvements dansés amples, lents, profonds, syncopés par instants, annonçant un lendemain qui sera bien différent de la veille.

Voix des morts

  • Instrumental. Durée : 3’19s.

Au milieu d’un rêve, des silhouettes aux yeux vides, au travers desquels l’horizon du soleil couchant est visible, apparaissent à tous, bougeant leurs grandes lèvres d’ombre, ouvrant des bouches immenses, prononçant des phrases qui ne sont que chuintements glaçants. Et pourtant, l’espoir reste là.

Dire que c’est possible

  • Chanté. Durée : 2’53s.

S’extirper d’une enclave, enfermé dans une faille de l’espace et du temps, au sortir de laquelle plusieurs mondes sont possibles, monde passé, monde futur, monde présent, monde à soi, monde des autres. Messages envoyés. Conflits passés. Complicité présente. Tentative de saisir le présent, d’en conserver, peut-être, une image fidèle.

Noté sur les adultes

  • Chanté. Durée : 2’34s.

A partir d’un instant précis, dans la vie personnelle d’un individu, il se passe comme une agitation, comme si l’être se trouvait dans un tube à essai, agité en tous sens par un laborantin géant en blouse blanche. A l’issue, se déroule ce que l’on nomme un précipité : les produits, par leurs miscibilités, donnent naissance à quelque chose de complètement nouveau, un changement de toute la vie.

Le Mans

  • Chanté. Durée : 4’53s.

Après le temps, après que le temps ait passé, on ne sait pas exactement où on est dans le temps. Hier ou demain ou aujourd’hui. On a des souvenirs, avec soi, on a des rêves d’avenir, on est dans un train qui emmène, qui ramène, qui entraîne. Plus de libre arbitre, plus qu’un spectateur de son temps, des bribes de la vie passée-présente-future qui tournoient. Eclatements cristallins des bribes de la vie, des lieux, qui tournent en apesanteur, comme autant de facettes montrant au travers d’elles on ne sait si c’est avant ou après. Autour d’un lieu où il s’est passé on ne sait plus quoi. Mais on sait que c’était là. Le Mans.

Voyage

  • Chanté. Durée : 3’20s.

Passer d’un lieu à un autre, c’est être ailleurs. Pendant la transition, le voyage, où est-on, qui est-on ? Dans un no man’s land des sentiments, dans une ignorance de l’avenir, dans une conscience de certaines bribes du passé et de l’autre. Dans cette histoire sous-jacente, d’arrivée symbolique dans la grande ville de France, c’est d’arrivée dans le mystère, sombre, empli de douleur, qu’il s’agit. Cette étape.

Evva avec deux V

  • Chanté. Durée : 3’29s.

Rencontre amoureuse / intellectuelle.

Médaille

  • Chanté. Durée : 2’41s.

Contestation politique désarticulée.

Camaïeu

  • Chanté. Durée : 4’10s.

La peur de la nuit parisienne.

Salut Benoît

  • Instrumental. Durée : 3’45s.

Des voix de l’autre bout du téléphone et du temps, qui résonnent, stridentes.

Aigle

  • Chanté. Durée : 3’52s.

Fuir son quotidien...

Alexandre Le Grand

  • Chanté. Durée : 5’08s.

Héros des temps anciens, remis au goût du jour.

Zut

  • Chanté. Durée : 3’48s.

Culpabilité.

Portables étalées

  • Chanté. Durée : 3’28s.

Prétentions usitées.

Immédiat

  • Chanté. Durée : 1’43s.

Il était une fois.