Screenwriters’ Festival 2018

7 April 2018. Published by Benoît Labourdette.

Itinerant projection at night in Valencia, as part of the International Festival of Screenwriters, on the theme of the evolution of audiovisual writing according to technologies.

The festival closes on 7 April 2018 with a screening of short films and film extracts on the walls of the old city of Valencia. About fifty people are present.

Atypical construction of the film program

For the programming of this session, I knew I would show an excerpt from the documentary “Television, the eye of tomorrow” (J.K Raymond Millet, 1947) where the future uses of mobile television are imagined in a playful way. Striking film, because it describes very precisely our contemporary uses.

Around that, I wanted to show films shot on mobile phones, films made in workshops, militant films, films on art and technology... I had many ideas, but for the programming to be finalized, it had to be embodied in the places.

It seemed to me that it would make sense to show one of my last films, « The Example », a philosophical reflection on the political function of the work of art, which would reside in its very form. I also wanted to show some silent films made within the framework of The animated film workshop at the Museum of Man (Paris), because words and images in cut paper seemed to me to be able to make building facades live well.

JPEG - 994.7 kb

Two performing arts students, Teddy Trouiller and Owen Poulain, are accompanying me to organize this screening. They themselves make films, experiment writing according to the tools under the leadership of Stéphane Colin at the University of Valencia. I decide to integrate several of their films in the course.

Then, they propose me to discover streets of the old city that I did not know, in particular the street of Armenia, in which there is a memorial of the Armenian genocide of 1915. It then seems obvious to me to show an extract from a film by Artavazd Pelechian, a great experimenter of cinema as a poetic and political fact.

I wanted to show a film made on the phone with a close-up of my hand. Teddy and Owen tell me that they programmed a few days earlier as part of an event they were organizing for Sophie Sherman’s film “Fear thy not”, grand prize at the 2010 Pocket Films Festival, which she had directed as part of a workshop I had hosted at Fresnoy - Studio national des arts contemporain. We are therefore integrating this film into the programming.

In the afternoon before the session, I meet a demonstration of anonymous vegan, who show on their laptops videos of animal suffering. The idea then comes to me as an evidence to show a slaughterhouse video, because these videos of political activism, so important, are allowed by hidden miniature cameras. I ask them to send me videos.

JPEG - 1.4 Mb

It was with all this multiple enrichment that I built the film program. In the evening, the screening was a magical moment.

Meeting and care

The essence of this film programme is to be intimately attentive to encounters, to know what you want while maintaining your ability to move, to welcome the unexpected as a richness. It is what made me believe that the meeting between the places, the works and the spectators was just and rich, that it made sense in its context.

This leads me to a philosophical reflection: isn’t life itself intrinsically only a meeting? It is the fact that two gametes, foreign to each other, meet and merge that creates life. It is this immense risk that is taken that leads us towards the discovery of the unknown, that makes the world grow. I think that a moment of artistic sharing must be nourished by this demand, this truth of meeting, of mutual enrichment. Daring to meet the other and its magnificent consequences.

JPEG - 959.1 kb

Movies shown

  • “GPS Yourself” (Rémi Boulnois, 2008).
  • « Racism » (Benoît Labourdette, 2017).
  • “Beginning” (excerpt, Artavazd Pelechian, 1967).
  • “Fear thy not” (Sohpie Sherman, 2010).
  • “The Champion” (Rui Avelans Coelho, 2007).
  • “Television, the eye of tomorrow” (excerpt, J.K Raymond Millet, 1947).
  • “Tex Avery” (Teddy Trouiller and Owen Poulain, 2018).
  • “The pearl” (Marguerite Lantz, 2006).
  • « The Example » (Benoît Labourdette, 2018).
  • “Elan” (Teddy Trouiller and Owen Poulain, 2017).
  • “Houdan slaughterhouse” (L214, 2016).
  • “1,2,3,4” (Teddy Trouiller, 2018).
  • « Family-identity-diversity » (Benoît Labourdette, 2017).

Photos : Teddy Trouiller.

Portfolio

Movies meeting a neighborhood... Since 2011, I propose “night journey” travelling projections of short films in a district building. No installation, these projections are made using a pico-projector (portable projectors). This is the “mobile projection”. Exploit this new technology yet, these mini projectors that will soon equip our phones, for moments of encounter between works, place, people.

Night courses were held in France and Belgium : Festival Pro Via Mons, Festival d’Avignon, Ecole Normale Supérieure, Screenwriters Festival, Agglomeration Evry, Maison des métallos, Travelling Rennes Film Festival...

Accueil > Innovation > Projections itinérantes > Festival des scénaristes 2018

Projections itinérantes

Des films à la rencontre d’un quartier... Depuis 2011, je propose des « parcours nocturnes », projections itinérante de courts métrages dans un quartier, un bâtiment. Aucune installation, ces projections sont réalisées à l’aide d’un pico-projecteur (vidéoprojecteurs portables). C’est de la « projection mobile ». Exploiter cette technologie encore nouvelle, ces mini vidéoprojecteurs qui vont bientôt équiper nos téléphones, pour des moments de rencontre entre des œuvres, un lieu, les gens.

Des parcours nocturnes ont eu lieu à : Festival Via Pro Mons, Festival d’Avignon, Ecole Normale Supérieure, Festival des scénaristes, Agglomération d’Evry, Maison des métallos, Festival Travelling Rennes...

Festival des scénaristes 2018

7 avril 2018

Projection itinérante la nuit à Valence, dans le cadre du Festival international des scénaristes, sur la thématique de l’évolution de l’écriture audiovisuelle en fonction des technologies.

En clôture du festival, le 7 avril 2018, rendez-vous est donné pour une projection de courts métrages et d’extraits de films sur les murs de la vieille ville de Valence. Une cinquantaine de personnes sont présentes.

Construction atypique du programme des films

Pour la programmation de cette séance, je savais que je projetterais un extrait du documentaire « La télévision, oeil de demain » (J.K Raymond Millet, 1947) où sont imaginés de façon ludique les usages futurs de la télévision mobile. Film frappant, car il décrit très précisément nos usages contemporains.

Autour de cela, je souhaitais montrer des films tournés au téléphone portable, des films faits dans le cadre d’ateliers, des films militants, des films sur l’art et la technologie... j’avais beaucoup d’idées, mais pour que la programmation se finalise, il fallait qu’elle s’incarne dans les lieux.

Il me semblait que cela ferait sens de projeter un de mes derniers films, « L’Exemple », réflexion philosophique sur la fonction politique de l’œuvre d’art, qui résiderait dans sa forme même. Je souhaitais aussi montrer certains films muets réalisés dans le cadre de L’atelier cinéma animé au Musée de l’Homme, car des mots et images en papier découpé me paraissaient pouvoir bien faire vivre des façades d’immeubles.

<span class="caps">JPEG</span> - 994.7 ko

Deux étudiants en arts du spectacle, Teddy Trouiller et Owen Poulain, m’accompagnent pour organiser cette projection. Eux-mêmes réalisent des films, expérimentent l’écriture en fonction des outils sous la houlette de Stéphane Colin à l’université de Valence. Je décide d’intégrer plusieurs de leurs films dans le parcours.

Puis, ils me proposent de découvrir des rues de la vieille ville que je ne connaissais pas, notamment la rue d’Arménie, dans laquelle il y a un mémorial du génocide arménien de 1915. Il m’apparaît alors comme évident d’y projeter un extrait d’un film d’Artavazd Pelechian, grand expérimentateur du cinéma comme fait poétique et politique.

Je voulais projeter un film réalisé au téléphone avec un gros plan de main. Teddy et Owen me disent qu’ils ont programmé quelques jours plus tôt dans le cadre d’un événement qu’ils organisaient le film « Fear thy not » de Sophie Sherman, grand prix du Festival Pocket Films 2010, qu’elle avait réalisé dans le cadre d’un workshop que j’avais animé au Fresnoy - Studio national des arts contemporains. Nous intégrons donc ce film à la programmation.

L’après-midi avant la séance, je croise une manifestation d’anonymous vegan, qui montrent sur leurs ordinateurs portables des vidéos de souffrance animale. L’idée me vient alors comme une évidence de montrer une vidéo d’abattoir, car ces vidéos d’activisme politique, si importantes, sont permises par des caméras miniatures cachées. Je leur demande de me faire parvenir des vidéos.

<span class="caps">JPEG</span> - 1.4 Mo

C’est fort de tout cet enrichissement multiple que j’ai construit le programme des films. Le soir, la projection fut un moment magique.

Rencontre et écoute

Etre à l’écoute intime des rencontres, savoir ce que l’on veut tout en conservant sa capacité de mouvement, accueillir l’imprévu comme une richesse, c’est ce qui a constitué l’essence de ce programme de films. C’est ce qui a fait je crois que la rencontre entre les lieux, les œuvres et les spectateurs fut juste et riche, qu’elle a fait sens dans son contexte.

Cela m’amène à une réflexion philosophique : la vie elle-même n’est-elle pas intrinsèquement qu’une rencontre ? C’est le fait que deux gamètes, étrangères l’une à l’autre, se rencontrent et fusionnent qui crée la vie. C’est ce risque immense qui est pris qui nous emmène vers la découverte de l’inconnu, qui fait grandir le monde. Je pense qu’un moment de partage artistique doit être nourri de cette exigence là, cette vérité de la rencontre, de l’enrichissement mutuel. Se risquer à la rencontre de l’autre et à ses magnifiques conséquences.

<span class="caps">JPEG</span> - 959.1 ko

Les films projetés

  • « GPS Yourself » (Rémi Boulnois, 2008).
  • « Racisme » (Benoît Labourdette, 2017).
  • « Au début » (extrait, Artavazd Pelechian, 1967).
  • « Fear thy not » (Sohpie Sherman, 2010).
  • « The Champion » (Rui Avelans Coelho, 2007).
  • « La télévision, oeil de demain » (extrait, J.K Raymond Millet, 1947).
  • « Tex Avery » (Teddy Trouiller et Owen Poulain, 2018).
  • « La perle » (Marguerite Lantz, 2006).
  • « L’exemple » (Benoît Labourdette, 2018).
  • « Elan » (Teddy Trouiller et Owen Poulain, 2017).
  • « Abattoir d’Houdan » (L214, 2016).
  • « 1,2,3,4 » (Teddy Trouiller, 2018).
  • « Famille-identité-diversité » (Benoît Labourdette, 2017).

Photos : Teddy Trouiller.


Voir aussi