East image: Cover images that make violence happen

9 November 2016. Published by Benoît Labourdette.

Training on how to teach about violent images.

East Image, Regional Centre for Arts Education and Training in Cinema and Audiovisual, organized on November 9, 2016, with the support of the Conseil régional and the DRAC d’Alsace Champagne-Ardenne Lorraine, a training day on the theme “Appreciating images that make violence happen”. This day was intended for all those involved in cultural action, transmission, arts education and image training (teachers, animators, educators, trainers, socio-cultural mediators, librarians, etc.).

How to teach on a taboo and yet essential subject?

In this context, I facilitated an afternoon of practical workshop so that the participants could design their own image-education tools adapted to the subject of violent images / violent images.

These images are in fact linked to a taboo, that of violence. It is particularly difficult to work on it with students, precisely because of this taboo. Since, in the context of education, which aims at citizenship, violence must not be advocated, it is also very difficult to show this type of image. It’s a real ethical question (and the reaction of parents...). But if we do nothing out of fear, we do not fulfil our educational mission.

So how do we approach a forbidden and yet crucial subject? Because these images are at the centre of many of the essential issues for young people (self-representation, violent radicalization, etc.). Being normative and giving moralizing discourse has no effect, as we know.

It is therefore necessary to build appropriate and unique pedagogical tools to help young people progress towards a finer awareness of the power of manipulation and intimate nuisance, so particular to these images. But how?

Seize

A first approach is to question the nuance of violent images / images that make violence. A decapitation is a violent image. The image of a naked girl circulating in a college is an image that makes violence.

It seemed to me that in order for this day to be truly constructive for the participants, everyone had to risk for these taboo images. To put this risk-taking into practice as part of the training in order to be better prepared to take it with students.

So I proposed a workshop in small groups. Each group had to invent, design and then present to the others an educational tool to work with young people on the subject of violent images.

The workshop was conducted in three stages

  1. First of all, I suggested to everyone that they write on a piece of paper ten words evoked by the word “violence”. Looking at these associations of ideas collectively, one can already see how diverse the representations are.
    JPEG - 475.5 kb
    JPEG - 507.8 kb
    JPEG - 594.2 kb
    JPEG - 367 kb
    JPEG - 318.9 kb
  2. Then, in small groups, design a pedagogical action on the question of violent images. Some groups had difficulty getting started, finding the topic too difficult to address. This difficulty was the very object of the training: it is a question of making the participants make a journey, so that everyone works to overcome their fears, and dares to approach the subject. Seek and find by oneself ideas and solutions.
    JPEG - 373.5 kb>
  3. And finally, each group publicly presented their project to the others. I was taking live on-screen notes in a mindmap, here. Download proposals in PDF.
    JPEG - 357 kb
    JPEG - 372.7 kb
    JPEG - 459.2 kb
    JPEG - 468.3 kb
    JPEG - 420.3 kb
    JPEG - 478.9 kb
    JPEG - 489.8 kb

Presentation Text

Confronted with the proliferation and trivialization of violent images in our audiovisual environment, what effects should we fear for children and adolescents? Which models and stereotypes are transmitted to them through the representations of repeated violence? Does the abundance of these contents justify a renewed approach to image education? Even if violent images alone would not be a source of violence, they can have harmful effects if the children watching them do not make sense. Analyzing these images, verbalizing their impressions, training oneself in cinematographic practice to apprehend their narrative, technical and aesthetic mechanisms... so many orientations that allow us to apprehend images that cause violence through the prism of image education.PEDAGOGICAL OBJECTIVES: Based on conferences, case studies and workshops, this day will allow everyone to ask themselves about the nature of violent images and to consider concrete avenues for action in the field of image education.

Program

  • 9.30 AM - 9.45 AM: WELCOME SPEECHES
  • 9H45 - 10H45: CONFERENCE “AROUND THESE IMAGES THAT MAKE VIOLENCE”. By Carole Desbarats, Film critic and historian, director of knowledge dissemination at the École Normale Supérieure.
  • 10H45 - 11H45: CONFERENCE “WHEN FILMS ARE WORRYING: REFLECTIONS ON THE NATIONAL MECHANISMS OF EDUCATION À L’ IMAGE”. By Léo Souillés-Debats, Lecturer in Film Studies at the University of Lorraine.
  • 12.00 - 13.00: DEBATE “FEAR AND AUDACITY IN THE PROGRAMMING OF FILMS FOR YOUNG AUDIENCES”. With:
    • Léo Souillès-Debat, Lecturer in Film Studies at the University of Lorraine.
    • Denis Blum, National Consensus Building School and Cinema.
    • Joël Danet, Instance nationale de concertation Collège au cinéma.
    • Moderation: Jérôme Jorand, AFCAE Young Public Group.
  • 14H00 - 15H00: PRESENTATION OF A PEDAGOGICAL TOOL, CINAIMANT. By Karina Bianchi, Development Officer at the TILT Association.
  • 15H00 - 17H15: PRACTICAL WORKSHOP. By Benoît Labourdette, Director and producer, trainer and educator in image education.
  • 17:15 - 17:30: CONCLUDING REMARKS. By Carole Desbarats, Film critic and historian, director of knowledge dissemination at the École Normale Supérieure.

Brochure

JPEG - 507.6 kb
JPEG - 625.6 kb

Portfolio
Design and delivery of professional training in the field of image education, for teachers, facilitators, responsible for educational facilities, cultural and social, and cinema theater directors. With the new technology tools, to “connect” with the practices of youth and enlighten.

Accueil > Formation professionnelle > Formations Éducation aux images > Image’Est : Appréhender les images qui font violence

Formations Éducation aux images

Conception et animation de stages de formation professionnelle, dans le domaine de l’éducation aux images, à destination des enseignants, animateurs, responsables de structures éducatives, culturelles et sociales, notamment exploitants de salles de cinéma.

Avec les outils des nouvelles technologies, afin de se « connecter » aux pratiques des jeunes et de les éclairer.

Image’Est : Appréhender les images qui font violence

9 novembre 2016

Formation sur la façon d’enseigner au sujet des images qui font violence.

Image’Est, Pôle régional d’éducation artistique et de formation au cinéma et à l’audiovisuel, a organisé le 9 novembre 2016 avec le soutien du Conseil régional et de la DRAC d’Alsace Champagne-Ardenne Lorraine une journée de formation sur la thématique « Appréhender les images qui font violence ». Cette journée était destinée à l’ensemble des acteurs de l’action culturelle, de la transmission, de l’éducation artistique et de la formation aux images (enseignants, animateurs, éducateurs, formateurs, médiateurs socio-culturels, médiathécaires etc.).

Comment enseigner sur un sujet tabou et pourtant essentiel ?

Dans ce cadre, j’ai animé un après-midi d’atelier pratique pour que les participants puissent concevoir eux-mêmes des outils d’éducation à l’image adaptés au sujet des images violentes / images qui font violence.

Ces images sont de fait liées à un tabou, celui de la violence. Il est particulièrement difficile de travailler dessus avec des élèves, précisément du fait de ce tabou. Comme, dans le cadre de l’éducation, dont le but est la citoyenneté, on ne doit pas prôner la violence, il est aussi très délicat de montrer ce type d’images. C’est une vraie question éthique (et quid de la réaction des parents...). Mais si on ne fait rien par peur, on ne remplit pas sa mission éducative.

Alors comment faire pour aborder un sujet interdit et pourtant crucial ? Car ces images sont au centre de bien des enjeux essentiels pour les jeunes (représentation de soi, radicalisation violente, etc.). Être normatif et donner un discours moralisateur n’a aucun effet, on le sait.

Il convient donc de construire des outils pédagogiques adaptés, singuliers, pour faire cheminer les jeunes vers une conscience plus fine du pouvoir de manipulation et de nuisance intime, si particulier à ces images. Mais comment ?

Se risquer

Une première approche est de se questionner sur la nuance images violentes / images qui font violence. Une décapitation est une image violente. L’image d’une jeune fille dénudée qui circule dans un collège est une image qui fait violence.

Il m’a semblé, pour que cette journée puisse être vraiment constructive pour les participants, qu’il fallait que chacun se risque à ces images taboues. Mettre en pratique, dans le cadre de la formation, cette prise de risque, afin d’être mieux préparé à pouvoir la prendre avec des élèves.

J’ai donc proposé un atelier par petits groupes. Chaque groupe devait inventer, concevoir, puis présenter aux autres un outil pédagogique pour travailler avec les jeunes sur le sujet des images violentes.

L’atelier s’est déroulé en trois étapes

  1. J’ai tout d’abord proposé à chacun d’écrire sur une feuille de papier dix mots que lui évoquaient le mot « violence ». En regardant ces associations d’idées collectivement, on perçoit déjà à quel point les représentations sont diverses.
    <span class="caps">JPEG</span> - 475.5 ko
    <span class="caps">JPEG</span> - 507.8 ko
    <span class="caps">JPEG</span> - 594.2 ko
    <span class="caps">JPEG</span> - 367 ko
    <span class="caps">JPEG</span> - 318.9 ko
  2. Puis, par petits groupes, conception d’une action pédagogique sur la question des images violentes. Certains groupes ont eu du mal à démarrer, trouvant le sujet trop difficile à aborder. Cette difficulté était l’objet même de la formation : il s’agit de faire faire un cheminement aux participants, afin que chacun travaille à dépasser ses peurs, et ose aborder le sujet. Chercher et trouver par soi-même idées et solutions.
    <span class="caps">JPEG</span> - 373.5 ko
  3. Et enfin, chaque groupe présentait publiquement son projet aux autres. Je prenais des notes en direct à l’écran dans une mindmap, que voici. Téléchargement des propositions en PDF.
    <span class="caps">JPEG</span> - 357 ko
    <span class="caps">JPEG</span> - 372.7 ko
    <span class="caps">JPEG</span> - 459.2 ko
    <span class="caps">JPEG</span> - 468.3 ko
    <span class="caps">JPEG</span> - 420.3 ko
    <span class="caps">JPEG</span> - 478.9 ko
    <span class="caps">JPEG</span> - 489.8 ko

Texte de présentation de la journée

Cette journée de rencontre, d’échange et de réflexion propose de questionner les représentations de la violence telles qu’elles sont véhiculées par nos écrans quotidiens et d’envisager leur appréhension concrète dans le champ de l’éducation aux images.Face à la prolifération et à la banalisation des images violentes dans notre environnement audiovisuel, quels effets doit-on redouter pour les enfants et les adolescents ? Quels modèles et quels stéréotypes leur sont transmis à travers les représentations d’une violence à répétition ? L’abondance de ces contenus justifie-t-elle une approche renouvelée de l’éducation aux images ? Quand bien même les images violentes ne seraient pas, à elles seules, source de violence, elles peuvent avoir des effets néfastes si les enfants qui les regardent ne leur donnent pas de sens. Analyser ces images, verbaliser ses impressions, s’exercer soi-même à la pratique cinématographique pour appréhender ses mécanismes narratifs, techniques et esthétiques… autant d’orientations qui permettent d’appréhender les images qui font violence à travers le prisme de l’éducation aux images.OBJECTIFSDAGOGIQUES :À partir de conférences, d’études de cas et d’ateliers, cette journée permettra à chacun de s’interroger sur la nature des images violentes et d’envisager des pistes d’intervention concrètes au titre de l’éducation aux images.

Programme

  • 9H30 – 9H45 : DISCOURS DE BIENVENUE
  • 9H45 – 10H45 : CONFÉRENCE « AUTOUR DE CES IMAGES QUI FONT VIOLENCE ». Par Carole Desbarats, Critique et historienne du cinéma, directrice de la diffusion des savoirs à l’École Normale Supérieure.
  • 10H45 - 11H45 : CONFÉRENCE « QUAND LES FILMS INQUIÈTENT : RÉFLEXIONS SUR LES DISPOSITIFS NATIONAUX D’ÉDUCATION À L’IMAGE ». Par Léo Souillés-Debats, Maître de conférences en Études cinématographiques à l’Université de Lorraine.
  • 12H00 – 13H00 : DÉBAT « CRAINTE ET AUDACE DANS LA PROGRAMMATION DES FILMS JEUNE PUBLIC ». Avec :
    • Léo Souillès-Debat, Maître de conférences en Études cinématographiques à l’Université de Lorraine.
    • Denis Blum, Instance nationale de concertation École et cinéma.
    • Joël Danet, Instance nationale de concertation Collège au cinéma.
    • Modération : Jérôme Jorand, Groupe jeune public AFCAE.
  • 14H00 – 15H00 : PRÉSENTATION D’UN OUTILDAGOGIQUE, CINAIMANT. Par Karina Bianchi, Chargée de développement à l’Association TILT.
  • 15H00 – 17H15 : ATELIER PRATIQUE. Par Benoît Labourdette, Réalisateur et producteur, formateur et intervenant en éducation à l’image.
  • 17H15 – 17H30 : MOT DE CONCLUSION. Par Carole Desbarats, Critique et historienne du cinéma, directrice de la diffusion des savoirs à l’École Normale Supérieure.

Plaquette de présentation

<span class="caps">JPEG</span> - 507.6 ko
<span class="caps">JPEG</span> - 625.6 ko