Impressionnism

Video installation. These are one-minute videos to be broadcast repeatedly on black surfaces. Work on the sensation of the landscape, the project to transmit an immediate impression. As a mix between Lumière and impressionist paintings ... made of pixels. Four image layers, whose pixels are subtracted from each other, a mostly black image with objects and bodies are revealed when they are shifted from each other : this is the time that makes the image.

Video loop by Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). The clouds move slowly, if you look at the sky for a brief moment, but seem to go very quickly if you take the time to look. The relativity of perceived time... And if we superimpose the pictures of (...)

Video loop by Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). The reflection of the city in the windows of skyscrapers is a fascinating visual effect. These buildings, which usually dominate us, are, in the city itself, reduced to a single image, a fragile (...)

Loop video by Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). Sometimes, in the Paris metro, thanks to work, the walls are stripped of their posters for a facelift. So, during the time of repair, there are still traces, such as scratches that make the ancient (...)

Loop video by Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). The Pont Neuf, in addition to its architectural history (the oldest bridge in Paris), has an artistic history : its packaging by Christo in 1985, the film “The Lovers on the Pont Neuf” by Leos Carax (...)

Loop video by Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). At the end of the afternoon, the shadows are long, which can be interesting for the subtraction of pixels. This station platform in the Paris suburbs is unique it is surelevé over the city, and thus (...)

Video loop by Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). The modernization of subway platforms in Paris (France) consists of the installation of glass barriers on the quayside. As a screen so that opens and closes each time underground. The entrance is in (...)

Video loop by Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). In a “city”, a popular area of the city near Marseille, makes buildings aligned, there are actions, artistic and social: making jam, building street furniture ... a small party in the heart of everyday (...)

Video loop by Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). Raindrops on the window of a moving train. Plan sets a moving object. Metaphor of cinema: the film set in the device records the movement of the world before. In fact, a train is technically a kind (...)

Loop video by Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). People sitting, working in a small office, with the background the street behind the window. The superposition of four times by subtracting the pixels can give, if you look at a single character, an (...)

Video loop by Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). This small park is located next door to me. For years, every time I go there, I am concerned about this bit of wall damaged, with the apparent behind the plaster bricks that fell long ago. As an (...)

Loop video by Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). An installation of Japanese bowls, lamps installed to decorate the countryside, in the context of “Encounters documentary film” in Mellionnec (Brittany - France). The movement of these white balls (...)

Loop video by Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). A train station, on the day of going on holiday, is a very ephemeral space in my opinion, to be revealed in the truth of what is humanly play, lends itself well to the visual processing of (...)

Video loop by Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). Human beings to the descent of a train. Each figure shows that passes through its movement in the layers of the image, which was hidden there.

Video loop Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). Railway buildings designed to accommodate the movement of trains, can be taken as a metaphor of the film projector. With the subtraction of pixels in four layers, the platform of the small station (...)

Video loop by Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). The Eiffel Tower, visible monument if any, if it visually subtracted from itself becomes invisible, except if the viewer is small head movements, which show her figure (...)

Video loop Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). A hall, a reception. By visual subtraction of four superimposed shots made one after the other, humans mutate in remains of their presence, ie become almost absent, revealing the edges of the immutable (...)

Loop video by Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). A simple Parisian sidewalk. We go, we go, in daily life. But are we sure we’ve been there at that time ? Do we remember our presence to the world and to others, in the everyday moments... that become (...)

Loop video by Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). The view of a single metro corridor, with the same principle of visual overlay of four times, in which the pixels are subtracted, added, multiplied, divided, to show as “edges” of time, on the edges of (...)

A digital tribute to the first Lumière films, with these references. Loop video by Benoît Labourdette (1’10s, 2013).

Loop video by Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). A bridge over the Marne. Classic about the Impressionist painters. Reinterpreted in my own way, in addition and subtraction of pixels of different (...)

Impressionnisme

Projet d’installation vidéo. Ces vidéos d’une minute sont destinées à être diffusées en boucle sur des surfaces noires. Un travail sur la sensation du paysage, le projet de transmettre une impression immédiate. Comme un mixage entre des vues Lumière et des toiles impressionnistes... faites de pixels. Quatre couches d’image, dont les pixels se soustraient les uns aux autres, produisent une image principalement noire, dont les objets et les corps se révèlent lorsqu’ils se décalent les uns par rapport aux autres : c’est le temps qui fabrique l’image.

Vidéo en boucle de Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). Les nuages vont lentement, si on regarde le ciel un instant, mais semblent aller très vite si on prend le temps de les regarder. La relativité du temps perçu... Et si on superpose leurs images à (...)

Vidéo en boucle de Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). Le reflet de la ville dans les vitres-miroir des grattes ciel est un effet visuel fascinant. Ces bâtiments, qui habituellement nous surplombent, nous dominent, se voient, dans la ville elle-même, (...)

Vidéo en boucle de Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). Parfois, dans le métro parisien, à la faveur de travaux, les murs sont débarrassés de leurs affiches, pour faire peau neuve. Alors, pendant le temps de la réfection, il reste des traces, comme des (...)

Vidéo en boucle de Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). Le Pont Neuf, outre son histoire architecturale (le plus vieux pont de Paris), a une histoire artistique : son emballage par Christo en 1985, le film « Les amants du Pont Neuf » de Leos Carax en (...)

Vidéo en boucle de Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). A la fin de l’après-midi, les ombres sont longues, d’où un intéressant possible pour la soustraction des pixels. Ce quai de gare en banlieue parisienne a ceci de particulier qu’il est surelevé par (...)

Vidéo en boucle de Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). La modernisation des quais du métro à Paris consiste en l’installation de barrières de verre sur le bord du quai. Comme une sorte d’écran, qui s’ouvre et se ferme à chaque passage de métro. L’entrée (...)

Vidéo en boucle de Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). Dans une « cité », un quartier populaire de cette ville proche de Marseille, faite d’immeubles alignés, il y a des actions, artistiques et sociales : fabriquer de la confiture, construire du mobilier (...)

Vidéo en boucle de Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). Des gouttes de pluie sur la vitre d’un train en marche. Plan fixe dans un un objet en mouvement. Métaphore du cinéma : la pellicule, fixe dans l’appareil, enregistre le mouvement du monde devant. En (...)

Vidéo en boucle de Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). Des gens assis, qui travaillent dans un petit bureau, avec l’arrière plan de la rue derrière la vitrine. La superposition de quatre temps, par soustraction des pixels, peut donner, si on regarde un (...)

Vidéo en boucle de Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). Ce petit parking se trouve à côté de chez moi. Depuis des années, à chaque fois que j’y passe, je me sens concerné par ce petit morceau de mur abimé, avec ces briques apparentes derrière le plâtre qui (...)

Vidéo en boucle de Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). Une installation de boules japonaises, des lampes installées pour décorer la campagne, dans le cadre des « Rencontres du film documentaire » à Mellionnec en Bretagne. Le mouvement de ces boules (...)

Vidéo en boucle de Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). Un hall de gare un jour de départ en vacances est un espace excessivement éphémère, qui à mon avis, pour être révélé dans une vérité de ce qui s’y joue humainement, se prête bien au traitement visuel de (...)

Vidéo en boucle de Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). Des êtres humains à la descente d’un train. Chaque silhouette qui passe révèle, par son mouvement dans les couches de l’image, ce qui y était (...)

Vidéo en boucle de Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). Les édifices ferroviaires, destinés à accueillir le mouvement des trains, peuvent être pris pour une métaphore du projecteur cinématographique. Avec la soustraction des pixels en quatre couches, le (...)

Vidéo en boucle de Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). La Tour Eiffel, monument visible s’il en est, si elle se soustrait visuellement à elle-même, devient invisible, à part si celui qui la regarde fait de petits mouvements de tête, qui font apparaître (...)

Vidéo en boucle de Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). Une cour, une réception. Par la soustraction visuelle de quatre plans superposés filmés les uns après les autres, les êtres humains mutent en traces de leur présence, c’est à dire deviennent quasi (...)

Vidéo en boucle de Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). Un simple trottoir parisien. On y passe, on y passe, dans la vie quotidienne. Mais est-on bien sûr d’y être passé, d’avoir été là, à ce moment là ? Se souvient-on de sa propre présence au monde et aux (...)

Vidéo en boucle de Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). La vue d’un simple couloir de métro, avec ce même principe de superposition visuelle de quatre temps, dans lesquels les pixels se retranchent, s’ajoutent, se multiplient, se divisent, afin de faire (...)

Un hommage, en numérique, aux premiers films des frères Lumière, avec ces référents. Vidéo en boucle de Benoît Labourdette (1’10s, 2013).

Vidéo en boucle de Benoît Labourdette (1’10, 2013). Un pont sur la Marne. Sujet classique des peintres impressionnistes. Réinterprété à ma manière, en addition et soustractions de pixels de temps (...)