Hand studies

Hands, or rather the hand, is a subject that matters to movies shot with handheld cameras : the camera in one hand, that films the other hand.

With mobile phones, filming his feet was a recurring figure, because when turned on the phone, in a horizontal position, we see his feet. On the other hand, with a digital camera that is facing you, it is vertical when it turned on. So often the other hand appears in the image.

This hand can become a topic.

Blood on the hands... who can pretend not to have some, even indirectly? Film by Benoît Labourdette (2’21s, 2010).

Invisible war. Film by Benoît Labourdette (1’39s, 2010).

At night, memories emerge. As in a dream, gestures are back in the hands, without even one noticing. It is our body that “records”, that stores, that enrolled in our memory, ’reviewing the film’ the day. Film by Benoît Labourdette (2’06s, (...)

A tree in the middle of a street. It’s simple and banal. But if we explore its surface, its bark, we discover stories. All the stories that took place around, including the tree retains traces, etched on him, like so many tattoos. Love, venue, (...)

In a corridor of the Paris metro, only urban universe, fruit emerge from tiled walls. Film by Benoît Labourdette (2’06s, 2010).

Everyone runs, goes about his occupations, his work, his sport, his body, his loves, his delay, its all his time, some on foot, others by car, bicycle, light clothing, or city. And if, at the top of all this turmoil, a great hand had all this, (...)

All is only a game. Communicate with fellow via digital networks is part of the game. Film by Benoît Labourdette (1’38s, 2010).

Under the cobblestones, the beach ! A desire for freedom, for fulfillment, which today actually exists, but is only an image. Film by Benoît Labourdette (2’03s, 2010).

The trip, since the invention of the train, is a very dangerous mechanical operation. So musics, mechanical also. The landscape it also is filled with these mechanisms. Mechanisms at all levels. Film by Benoît Labourdette (1’16s, (...)

The violence of the images and the violence of the relationship to the images, through the deadly ’road-movie’ with one hand. Film Benoît Labourdette (3’02s, 2010).

Hands, or rather the hand, is a subject that matters to movies shot with handheld cameras : the camera in one hand, that films the other hand. A film by Benoît Labourdette (1’25s, 2010).

Etudes pour mains

Les mains, ou plutôt la main, est un sujet qui compte pour les films tournés avec des caméras de poche : la caméra dans une main, qui filme l’autre main.

Avec les téléphones portables, filmer ses pieds était une figure récurrente, car lorsqu’on allume le téléphone, à l’horizontale, on voit ses pieds. Par contre, avec un appareil photo numérique, qu’on tient face à soi, il est vertical lorsqu’on l’allume. Alors souvent l’autre main apparaît dans l’image.

Cette main peut devenir un sujet.

Du sang sur les mains... qui n’en a pas, ne serait-ce qu’indirectement ? Un film de Benoît Labourdette (2’21s, 2010).

Guerre invisible. Un film de Benoît Labourdette (1’39s, 2010).

La nuit, les souvenirs ressurgissent. Comme dans un rêve, les gestes reviennent dans les mains, sans même qu’on s’en aperçoive. C’est notre corps qui « enregistre », qui mémorise, qui inscrit dans notre mémoire, en « repassant le film » de la journée. (...)

Un arbre au milieu d’une rue. C’est simple et banal. Mais si on explore sa surface, son écorce, on découvre des histoires. Toutes les histoires qui se sont déroulées autour, dont l’arbre conserve les traces, gravées sur lui, comme autant de tatouages. (...)

Dans un couloir du métro parisien, univers on ne peut plus urbain, des fruits émergent des murs carrelés. Un film de Benoît Labourdette (2’06s, 2010).

Tout un chacun circule, vaque à ses occupations, son travail, son sport, son corps, ses amours, son retard, son tout son temps, certains à pied, d’autres en voiture, en vélo, en vêtements légers, ou de ville. Et si, au dessus de toute cette agitation, (...)

Tout n’est qu’un jeu. Communiquer avec ses semblables, via des réseaux numérique, fait partie du jeu. Un film de Benoît Labourdette (1’38s, 2010).

Sous les pavés, la plage ! Un désir de liberté, d’épanouissement, qui aujourd’hui existe, réellement, mais n’est qu’une image. Un film de Benoît Labourdette (2’03s, 2010).

Le voyage, depuis l’invention du train, est une opération mécanique très dangereuse. D’où des musiques, mécaniques aussi. Le paysage lui aussi, est empli de ces mécanismes. Mécanismes à tous les étages. Un film de Benoît Labourdette (1’16s, (...)

La violence des images et la violence de la relation aux images, à travers le « road-movie » meurtrier d’une main. Un film de Benoît Labourdette (3’02s, 2010).

Les mains, ou plutôt la main, est un sujet qui compte pour les films tournés avec des caméras de poche : la caméra dans une main, qui filme l’autre main. Un film de Benoît Labourdette (1’25s, (...)