Captain Thanase

Le capitaine Thanase Film by Martine Stora and Benoît Labourdette (32’28s, 1995). Meeting with André Malartre. The discovery of an inventor of theater. thumbnail Benoît Labourdette
Film by Martine Stora and Benoît Labourdette (32’28s, 1995).
22 November 1995. Published by Benoît Labourdette.

Meeting with André Malartre. The discovery of an inventor of theater.

André Malartre (1921-1995) was an inventor and teacher of theater, mainly working his art in the transmission, internships, group shows, many theatrical creations, in various frameworks, Caen and Normandy. Martine Stora who was one of his great friends, had asked, in 1995, to co-réaliser a documentary on him, important figure of the contemporary, yet unknown to the public theater. An exhibition, « Presence André Malartre », devoted November 24, 2016 January 4, 2017 at the City Hall of Caen (Yves Leroy). On this occasion, we found an old copy of the film, here is the opportunity a beautiful lesson of theatre.

Benoît Labourdette

City Hall - Place St Sulpice - Paris 1995 coffee

Just a burst of life

  • André, we wish, with Benoit, make a movie, a picture of you on all of your work as a designer, poet, teacher.
  • Ask me lots of questions then?
  • Yes.
  • But you know that I like to ask questions.

I knew and knew André Malartre modest, discreet. He did not talk about him, preferring to focus on others. But he welcomed this proposal.
However, at our first meeting he was playful and provocative! He arrived with a pile of papers, press kits, poetic texts and his ’valuable book"as he liked to say. He had decided to run the show and knew that ask me questions about my work (knowing that we were preparing another documentary on Paul Virilio), on my supposed vacation I had to take, leaving me very little speech, dodging through this to talk about his own person.
He had warned me. I tried a couple of approaches...

  • André, your very first theatrical shock that you already told me... poetry...
  • Tell me why you love poets?

I was laughing and realized that he needed time before taking off.
Eventually enthusiasm, humour, vitality and intensity were the key words of our meetings around the preparation of ’his’ film.
It is in this atmosphere that took regular interviews on the 1st floor of City Hall, Place St Sulpice coffee, before filming, between the months of March and the month of October 1995 at its venues in Paris.

As time passed, I felt the urgency of filming because despite the transcribed records where the simple notes recumbent on paper, the impact of his words, his voice, his posture, his way of communicating, its fun to talk about his theatrical search, for transmission to his students, his presence, called the camera.

The shooting took place in November 1995 in the Theatre of Alençon, led by then Jean-Claude Collot, former student and faithful friend.
The atmosphere was both concentrated, light and very cheerful.

Then, for various reasons, beyond our control, Benoît Labourdette and myself have been delayed in editing. We had planned to finish it in September.

In a letter that André Malartre addressed me on September 3, 1995, he wrote to me... “Back to school, I’ll resume my Paris trips... I’ll be Tuesday next to the opening of the exhibition of our friend Colette Klein”in the belly of the sky“. I hope to see you there, it’s Tuesday, September 12, from 6: 00... Yes, indeed, it would be although you have finished the portrait around September 15. We could thus provide a calendar of activities around the film...”

I keep this precious friend the great joy of sharing all these shards of life in poetry.

Martine Stora

Absence helps the power
and travels underground path
rougher than the night

Unexpected
an outbreak as a goal
Yet it goes beyond

“From death to love” extracted - poem by André Roman-Editions La Bruyère.

Diffusion

Download
What is a “documentary” ? A singular look on the world, on reality. Any film, any work, offers a vision of the world, whether through fiction or not. Moreover, some documentaries include fiction, and vice versa. So why differentiate these two forms of cinema ? Perhaps simply to clarify what the audience should expect from the film : the proposal to live a dream in an imaginary, or the proposal to discover unknown parts of the world, as revealed by a unique (...)

Accueil > Films > Documentaires > Le capitaine Thanase

Documentaires

Qu’est-ce qu’un « documentaire » ? Un regard singulier sur le monde, sur la réalité. Tout film, toute œuvre, au fond, propose une vision du monde, que cela soit par le truchement de la fiction ou pas. D’ailleurs, certains documentaires intègrent de la fiction, et inversement. Alors pourquoi différencier ces deux formes de cinéma ? Peut-être tout simplement pour préciser au spectateur ce qu’il doit attendre de prime abord du film : la proposition de vivre avant tout un rêve dans un imaginaire, ou la proposition de découvrir des pans du monde inconnus, car révélés par un regard unique.

Le capitaine Thanase

22 novembre 1995

Rencontre avec André Malartre. A la découverte d’un inventeur de théâtre.

Un film de Martine Stora et Benoît Labourdette (32’28s, 1995).


Le capitaine Thanase


Le capitaine Thanase Rencontre avec André Malartre. A la découverte d’un inventeur de théâtre. Un film de Martine Stora et Benoît Labourdette (32’28s, 1995). thumbnail Benoît Labourdette

André Malartre (1921-1995) était un inventeur et enseignant de théâtre, travaillant son art dans la transmission, les stages, les spectacles collectifs, les créations théâtrales nombreuses, dans divers cadres, à Caen et en Normandie principalement. Martine Stora qui était l’une de ses grandes amies, m’avait proposé, en 1995, de co-réaliser un documentaire sur lui, figure importante du théâtre contemporain, pourtant méconnue du grand public. Une exposition, « Présence André Malartre », lui est consacrée du 24 novembre 2016 au 4 janvier 2017 à l’Hôtel de Ville de Caen (commissariat : Yves Leroy). A cette occasion, nous avons retrouvé une ancienne copie du film, que voici, qui est l’occasion d’une magnifique leçon de théâtre.

Benoît Labourdette

Café de la Mairie-Place St Sulpice-Paris 1995

Juste un éclat de Vie


- André, nous souhaitons, avec Benoît, réaliser un film, un portrait de toi portant sur l’intégralité de ton travail de créateur, de poète, d’enseignant.
- Tu vas me poser des tas de questions alors ?
- Oui.
- Mais tu sais bien que moi aussi j’aime poser des questions.

Je savais et connaissais André Malartre pudique, discret. Il n’aimait pas parler de lui, préférant se concentrer sur les autres. Mais il accueillit avec joie cette proposition.
Toutefois, à notre première réunion de travail il se montra joueur et provocateur ! Il arriva, muni d’un monceau de papiers, de dossiers de presse, de textes poétiques et de son « précieux book » comme il aimait à dire. Il avait décidé de mener la danse et ne sut que me poser des questions, sur mon travail (sachant que nous préparions un autre documentaire sur Paul Virilio), sur mes supposées vacances que je devais prendre, me laissant très peu la parole, esquivant par ce biais à parler de sa propre personne.
Il m’avait prévenu. Je tentais quelques approches…

- André, ton tout premier choc théâtral dont tu m’as déjà parlé… la poésie…
- Dis-moi, toi pourquoi tu aimes tant les poètes ?

Je riais et compris qu’il lui fallait du temps avant de s’élancer.
Par la suite enthousiasme, humour, vitalité, intensité furent les maîtres mots de nos rencontres autour de la préparation de « son » film.
C’est dans cette atmosphère que se déroulèrent des entretiens réguliers au 1er étage du Café de la Mairie, Place St Sulpice, en amont du tournage, entre le mois de mars et le mois d’octobre 1995 lors de ses venues à Paris.

Plus le temps passait, plus je sentais l’urgence du tournage car malgré les enregistrements retranscrits où le simples notes couchées sur le papier, le fort impact de ses propos, sa voix, sa posture, sa façon de communiquer, son plaisir à parler de sa recherche théâtrale, de la transmission à ses élèves, sa présence, appelaient la caméra.

Le tournage eut lieu en novembre 1995 au Théâtre d’Alençon, que dirigeait alors Jean-Claude Collot, ancien élève et fidèle ami.
L’ambiance fut à la fois concentrée, légère et très gaie.

Puis, pour diverses raisons, indépendantes de notre volonté, Benoît Labourdette et moi-même avons pris du retard dans le montage. Nous avions prévu de le terminer en septembre.

Dans une lettre qu’André Malartre m’adressa en date du 3 septembre 1995, il m’écrivit …. « C’est la rentrée, je vais reprendre mes voyages parisiens… Je serai mardi prochain au vernissage de l’exposition de notre amie Colette Klein « Dans le ventre du Ciel ». J’espère t’y voir, c’est le mardi 12 septembre à partir de 18h…oui, en effet, ce serait bien que vous ayez fini le portrait vers le 15 septembre. Nous pourrions ainsi prévoir un calendrier d’activités autour du film… »

Je garde de cet ami précieux l’immense joie d’avoir partagé en poésie tous ces éclats de vie.

Martine Stora

L’absence aide la puissance
et parcourt un sentier souterrain
plus rude que la nuit

Imprévue
une flambée comme un but
pourtant tout recommence au-delà

« De la mort à l’amour » extrait – poème d’André Malartre-Editions La Bruyère.

Diffusions

Voir aussi