Visual art

Because of the mechanical nature of its technical function, photography is for me a matter of time rather than a visual matter : in its silver salts, or its pixels today, it is time which is captured, preserved, reinvented at every glance. Time of life, time of vision, time of poetry.

Painting is the original material of plastic work, which is intimately connected with photography, because it also contains the time of its gesture and its imagination.

Artistic installation, the existence in space and time of artistic forms is crucial because it is the way in which the work is modified by its relation to the spectator.

These practices interact with my work as a filmmaker, have always intermingled.

Ecrire le mot “couleur” avec des lettres de plusieurs couleurs.

Revisit the principles of four-colour printing, with inks and ashes. Fifteen “numerical paintings”. Mechanical colour reproduction does not use the same primary colours as in painting. There are only three: Red, Green and Blue. On computer (...)

Listen to the people around you and write down some of their words.

The intersection of the bodies of certain letters is the nature of this writing.

How a single word, the most important of words, reveals different facets only through the way it is written.

It is forbidden for the lines to touch each other. And yet they dialogue, all the more so.

The letters of these words must be in each other, for they have been asked. They seek their freedom there.

These letters must touch each other, without mixing their bodies.

Where the intersection between the letters is no exception, the word that at first seemed to flee takes its reason.

Here the letters do not touch, which does not take anything away from the depth of their dialogue; it is courteous love.

The letters of these words are necessarily linked, by the line.

Words are discovered, stripped, met in the adventure of their freehand writing.

Calligraphic explorations, unique words inspiring their form of drawing.

A face projected on a face, or the mise en abîme of the identity. Images that stay in the head During a workshop day that I conducted as part of the Master Digital Media of the University of Grenoble in November 2016, I photographed the (...)

Series of photographs. Cubist faces thanks to the tears of torn up advertising posters On the suggestion of the photographer Myriam Drosne, when a “paper face” appears to me in the city, its streets or its subways, I keepa photographic track of (...)

Film by Benoît Labourdette (8’34s, 2016).

Documentary on the painting exhibition “The wire” by Benoît Labourdette, Paris, October 2016.

Series of 100 paintings by Benoît Labourdette (acrylic and mixed media on canvas) format of 100x100cm in format 12x12cm, 2016. Exhibition in the studio of the artist in the fourth quarter 2016. «Initially, I had a film project : work inside the (...)

Show of the video installation « In excelsis » (Jean-Philippe Poirée-Ville, Maëlla-Mickaëlle Maréchal, Benoît Labourdette) in the “Engaged Documentary Festival” - Bretenoux and Teyssieu (Lot - France). At the initiative of Carole Contant, September 25, (...)

Series of 25 paintings on paper 50x65cm. “The coal consumed in the fireplace, which has lasted all spring, is now used to, at the time of the arrival of the summer, write the sensation of time that has gone, a revival that promises, engraving (...)

Series of photographs. Variation on the experience of a Parisian sidewalk. Shoot with the body, the hand that triggers the camera being an integral part of the optical system. Its presence before / with the objective diffracts the light rays to (...)

Video installation in 4 screens : human body - vegetable sculptures - video (a project by Jean-Philippe Poirée-Ville, Maëlla-Mickaëlle Maréchal, Benoît Labourdette). Four circular screens, looping: The installation is visible online. Here it is in (...)

Personal exhibition of recent video works. La Veranda, an exhibition place for young digital creation in the Centre region of France (a structure of the association Plan libre créations) proposes a solo exhibition of my recent video work, 18 and (...)

Video-vegetal installation. Into the International Garden Festival of Chaumont-sur Loire, the landscape architect Jean-Philippe Poirée-Ville has created a vegetable sculpture, in a basement, as a large liana levitating in the dark. I worked on (...)

Series of photographs. The long obturation photographs at night with camera movements produce drawings, often very aesthetic visual universe, because of the continuity of the lines thus formed, which produce a visual “automatic” almost harmony. (...)

Series of photographs. A long pause, in the early evening in June, along the fence that covers the work of the Forum des Halles in Paris. A short course, just trace the beginnings of a project... the long break is one of my watchwords, I (...)

A “Photo Booth” machine with interactive marketing hit me. I made this series of photos into a movie. But in reality, the photos are already in the film series, it is not necessary to change the (...)

For a few months at the end of 2010, I am committed to photographing cameras to observe the machines through which we observed in our knowledge everywhere and all the time. This has produced this series of 52 photographs. Dare to face the eye (...)

In everyday life, all of a sudden, our eye settles on something, and follows it...

Series of photographs. Advertising posters on the walls of cities and transport corridors are to me an extremely aggressive visual factor. I’ve always been dreaming of cities with no evidence other than the architecture itself. On November 8th, (...)

Series of photographs. An impromptu kiss ... Parisian tradition? And how our gaze transforms it. One morning in 2007, among the white-collar workers who run to their offices in the towers of the Parisian business district of La Défense, a scene (...)

Art plastique

La photographie, de par la nature mécanique de son fonctionnement technique, est pour moi une matière de temps plus qu’une matière visuelle : dans ses sels d’argent, ou ses pixels aujourd’hui, c’est du temps qui est capté, conservé, réinventé à chaque regard. Temps de vie, temps de vision, temps de poésie.

La peinture est la matière originelle du travail plastique, qui se relie intimement à la photographie à mon sens, car elle contient aussi le temps de son geste et de son imaginaire.

L’installation, c’est à dire l’existence dans l’espace et le temps des formes artistiques est cruciale, car il s’agit de la façon dont l’œuvre se modifie par sa mise en relation avec le spectateur.

Ces pratiques dialoguent avec mon travail de cinéaste, s’interpénètrent depuis toujours.

Revisite des principes de l’imprimerie en quadrichromie, avec des encres et des cendres. Quinze « tableaux numériques ». La reproduction mécanisée de la couleur n’utilise pas les mêmes couleurs primaires qu’en peinture. Il y en a seulement trois : (...)

Ecouter les personnes qui parlent autour de soi et noter certains de leurs mots.

L’intersection des corps de certaines lettres est la nature de cette écriture.

Comment un seul mot, le plus important des mots, révèle différentes facettes par le seul truchement de la façon qu’il a d’être écrit.

Il est interdit aux traits de se toucher. Et pourtant ils dialoguent, d’autant plus.

Les lettres de ces mots se doivent d’être les unes dans les autres, car on le leur a demandé. Elles y cherchent leur liberté.

Ces lettres là se doivent de se toucher, sans mêler leurs corps pour autant.

Où l’intersection entre les lettres ne fait pas d’exception, le mot qui d’abord semblait fuir prend sa raison.

Ici les lettres ne se touchent pas, ce qui n’enlève rien à la profondeur de leur dialogue ; c’est de l’amour courtois.

Les lettres de ces mots sont obligatoirement reliées, par le trait.

Les mots se découvrent, se dénudent, se rencontrent dans l’aventure de leur écriture à main levée.

Des explorations calligraphiques, des mots uniques inspirant leur forme d’écriture.

Un visage projeté sur un visage, ou la mise en abyme identitaire. Des images qui restent « en tête » Lors d’une journée de workshop que j’ai animée dans le cadre du Master Médias Numériques de l’Université de Grenoble en novembre 2016, j’ai photographié (...)

Série de photographies. Visages cubistes grâce aux déchirures des affiches publicitaires superposées. Sur la suggestion de la photographe Myriam Drosne, lorsqu’un « visage de papier » m’interpelle dans la ville, ses rues ou ses souterrains, j’en garde (...)

Documentaire sur l’exposition de peinture « Le fil » de Benoît Labourdette, Paris, octobre 2016. Un film de Benoît Labourdette (8’34s, 2016).

Série de 100 tableaux de Benoît Labourdette (acrylique et techniques mixtes sur toile) du format 100x100cm au format 12x12cm, 2016. Exposition dans l’atelier de l’artiste au quatrième trimestre 2016. « Au départ, j’avais un projet de film : (...)

Diffusion de l’installation vidéo « In excelsis » (Jean-Philippe Poirée-Ville, Maëlla-Mickaëlle Maréchal, Benoît Labourdette) dans le cadre du « Festival du documentaire engagé » à Bretenoux et Teyssieu (Lot). Septembre 2016, à l’initiative de Carole (...)

Série de 25 peintures sur papier 50x65cm. « Le charbon consumé dans la cheminée, qui a traîné tout le printemps, sert alors, au moment de l’arrivée de l’été, à écrire le sentiment du temps qui est passé, d’un renouveau qui s’annonce, gravant les traces de (...)

Série de photographies. Variation sur le vécu d’un trottoir parisien. Faire la prise de vue avec le corps, la main qui déclenche l’appareil photo faisant partie intégrante aussi du système optique. Sa présence devant/avec l’objectif diffracte les (...)

Installation vidéo en 4 écrans : corps humain - sculptures végétales - vidéo (projet de Jean-Philippe Poirée-Ville, Maëlla-Mickaëlle Maréchal, Benoît Labourdette). Quatre écrans circulaires, tournant en boucle : L’installation est visible en ligne. La (...)

Exposition personnelle d’œuvres vidéo récentes. La Véranda, lieu d’exposition pour la jeune création numérique en région Centre (une structure de l’association Plan libre créations), propose une exposition personnelle de mes travaux vidéo récents, les 18 (...)

Installation vidéo végétale. Dans le cadre du Festival international des jardins de Chaumont sur Loire, l’architecte-paysagiste Jean-Philippe Poirée-Ville a créé une sculpture végétale, en sous-sol, comme une grande liane en lévitation, dans le noir. (...)

Série de photographies. Les photographies en pause longue, de nuit avec mouvements d’appareil, produisent des dessins, des univers visuels souvent très esthétiques, du fait de la continuité des traits ainsi formés, qui fabriquent une harmonie (...)

Série de photographies. Une pause longue, en début de soirée au mois de juin, le long de la palissade qui couvre les travaux du Forum des Halles à Paris. Un petit parcours, juste la trace des prémices d’un projet... la pause longue est l’un de mes (...)

Série de photographies. Une machine « Photomaton » avec marketing interactif m’a frappé. J’ai fait cette série de photos pour en faire un film. Mais, en réalité, les photos en série font déjà le film, il n’est pas nécessaire de les changer de support. (...)

Série de photographies. Pendant quelques mois, à la fin de l’année 2010, je me suis attaché à photographier les caméras de surveillance, à observer les machines à travers lesquelles nous sommes observés à notre insu partout et tout le temps. Cela a (...)

Série de photographies. Les affiches publicitaires sur les murs des villes et dans les couloirs des transports en commun sont pour moi un facteur visuel extrêmement agressif. Je me suis toujours pris à rêver de villes sans signes autres que (...)

Série de photographies. Un baiser impromptu... tradition parisienne ? Et comment notre regard le transforme. Un matin en 2007, parmi les cols blancs qui courent à leurs bureaux dans les tours du quartier d’affaires parisien de La Défense, une (...)